about Us

The Florida Constitution established the office of the Tax Collector in 1885 based on the belief that local taxes could best be collected at the local level. In the state of Florida, Tax Collectors are independent constitutional officers elected from their counties of residence by their fellow citizens and serve the community in 4-year terms. To date, Lee County has had 15 Tax Collectors with the Honorable Noelle Branning currently serving in the role.

The Tax Collector serves as an agent for various state agencies including:

We proudly employ approximately 250 team members at six locations across the county. In FY 2023, the office performed nearly 1.6 million transactions while collecting and distributing $1.9 billion in property taxes to local Taxing Authorities. As a fee-based agency, we are funded at no additional cost to taxpayers.


To be a role model organization for excellence in providing government services.


Deliver 5-Star service quickly and efficiently through an organizational culture that values customers, team and community.

Translate »
accessibility widget