do you qualify for 2022 PROPERTY TAX RELIEF? Learn more.

First Time Drivers

The following information pertains only to customers who have never had a driver license before.

All customers applying for a Florida license are required to meet minimum vision requirements (please bring your glasses or contacts with you) and provide the required documentation.

To obtain a Florida driver license, you must:

Note: Customers aged 18 and older are not required to obtain a learner’s permit/license.

Florida Commercial driver license

TEEN DRIVERS:

To apply for a learner’s license, you must:

NOTE: Minors who take the Knowledge Exam online will need the parent or guardian who monitored them to certify that they were proctored during the exam. This can be done in person during the appointment, or by signing and notarizing the Parent Proctoring form.

  • Pass a Vision Test which is administered by the Tax Collector’s Office
  • Comply with school attendance. Per Florida Statute, Section 322.091, students who have 15 or more unexcused absences in a 90-day period are ineligible to receive or maintain driving privileges
  • Have one parent or legal guardian present or have their signature on the Parental Consent Form. Stepparents, grandparents, or other family members may not sign unless they have legal custody of the minor child.
  • Provide the required documentation.

To apply for a driver license you must:

  • Be at least 16 years old AND have held a learner’s license for one year
  • No traffic convictions
  • Have 50 hours (40 daytime and 10 nighttime) of driving experience. A parent, guardian, or other adult 21 years of age or older must be present with identification to sign the Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor If a responsible adult cannot be present, the document must be signed, notarized, and brought to the Road Test appointment.
  • Pass a Road Test
Driving License Registration
driving classes

ROAD TESTING:

Driving tests are offered by appointment only at our North and South Fort Myers offices (select the “Road Test” appointment type when scheduling.) Road test appointments open on a 60-day rolling basis. For example, if you would like to take a road test on July 12, you can schedule an appointment starting May 12. If you cannot make it to your appointment, please cancel it so other people have an opportunity to book.

  • Candidate must provide their own vehicle for the Class E Driving Skills test (see below for vehicle requirements.)
  • Candidate may bring an interpreter. The interpreter should be fluent in English and foreign language.
  • Only one appointment per customer per day.
  • Arrive 15 minutes prior to scheduled appointment time or your appointment may be rescheduled.
  • Read the Driving Test Instruction Sheet – English, (En Español) prior to your appointment.
  • Customers under 18 must have a responsible adult 21 or older present.
  • If a responsible adult cannot be present, a Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor must be signed and notarized to certify the minor had a minimum of 50 hours (40 daytime and 10 nighttime) driving experience.

Driving tests may also be completed at FLHSMV-approved third-party testing locations for an additional fee. Please see FLHSMV’s website for full list of providers.

Note: Per Florida Statute 322.56(3)(b) and (e), a customer who takes (and passes) the Class E Knowledge or Skills Exam through an authorized Third-Party Administrator may be randomly selected for a mandatory re-test without prior notice. This includes students who took Driver Education through their school. After a re-test with a passing score is completed in a driver license or tax collector office, the driver license will be issued. A failed mandatory re-test will require a re-exam fee be collected at the next exam attempt.

Road Rules

VEHICLE REQUIREMENTS:

Candidates must provide their own vehicle for the Class E Driving Skills Test. The vehicle must have a valid registration, proof of insurance, and pass a basic vehicle inspection conducted by the driver license examiner. The Driving Skills Test will not be given if the examiner finds:

  • Defective or inoperable horn, rear-view mirror, directional signals, steering wheel, brakes, tires, brake lights, headlights or taillights.
  • No windshield wipers on the driver’s side.
  • Cracked or broken glass that hinders visibility.
  • Expired tag.
  • No doors.
  • Front doors do not open from the inside and outside.
  • Vehicle does not have stationary seats.
  • Vehicle does not permit driver to give hand signals when required.
  • Jeep-type vehicles without framed canvas or metal doors held by hinges and door latch.
  • Does not meet bumper height requirements.
  • A low-speed vehicle, which are vehicles with top speeds of 20 to 25 miles per hour.

No other passengers are permitted during the exam unless a language interpreter is necessary.

Vehicles must be clean, sanitary and free of debris.

SKILLS TEST MANEUVERS:

You may be asked to perform the following maneuvers on the driving skills test:

  • Three Point Turn. Turn car around in a 20 to 40-foot space.
  • Approach of Crossing. Get in the proper lane and look in each direction.
  • Yield Right-of-Way. Allow pedestrians to cross, pull over and stop for emergency vehicles, and do not enter an intersection where you will interfere with other traffic.
  • Straight-In Parking. When properly parked, the vehicle should be centered inside the space with no part of the vehicle extending out in the traffic lane.
  • Parking on a Grade. Proper parking for uphill and downhill, with and without a curb.
  • Stop Quickly. Make a quick, safe stop when the examiner/agent instructs you.
  • Backing. Back a distance of 50 feet at a slow speed while looking to the rear. Do not use the rear-view mirror or rear-view camera monitor.
  • Obey Stop Signs. Approach in proper lane, come to a complete stop before reaching the stop line or crosswalk. Remain stopped until you can move safely.
  • Obey Traffic Signals. Get into the proper lane and approach the light at a speed that allows you to stop if the light changes. When the light turns green, do not move forward until traffic has cleared the intersection.
  • Signal and Turn. Get into the proper lane and signal your turn for the last 100 feet. You may use either hand or mechanical signals.
  • Passing. Always look ahead and behind to make sure you can pass safely.
  • Stay in Proper Lane. Drive in the right lane except on a one-way street. Don’t change lanes until it’s safe.
  • Follow at a Safe Distance. Don’t follow closely behind other cars. Keep a minimum distance of four seconds.
  • Use Proper Posture. Keep both hands on the steering wheel and do not rest your elbow in the window.

The examiner/agent will explain any mistakes you may have made after the exam is completed.

Customers who fail the Road Test will have to return for a re-test. 

Driving Class

TEEN DRIVING PRIVILEGES:

Those holding a learner’s license:

  • Must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and sits in the front passenger seat
  • May only operate a vehicle during the daylight hours. After three months, the holder of the learner’s license may operate a vehicle until 10pm.
  • Are not allowed to operate motorcycles, mopeds or go-peds

Teens who have upgraded to Class E driver’s license:

16-year-olds may only drive between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m., unless they are travelling to or from work, or are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and sits in the front passenger seat.

17-year-olds may only drive between 5 a.m. and 1a.m., unless they are traveling to or from work, or are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and sits in the front passenger seat.

Translate »